The Complete Urbanization of Lackawanna County

Over the years, Scranton gained and lost people. Now the population seemed to be growing, but the population of other cities and boroughs in the county seemed to be shrinking. The officials of Carbondale and other municipalities were concerned.

One day, local government officials of Lackawanna County gathered together at the Lackawanna County Administration Building. They met with the city council of Scranton to discuss their plans to merge with Scranton. The council members approved of their decision and brought their decision to the mayor. The mayor approved of the decision to merge the boroughs with Scranton.

Thus began the merging process. The first boroughs to merge with Scranton were Dunmore, Dickson City, Throop, Old Forge, and Moosic. Streets were renamed, and existing government buildings were converted to represent Scranton rather than the boroughs that already had said buildings. Shortly thereafter, Olyphant, Blakely, Jessup, Peckville, Eynon, and Archbald followed. Within one month, Jermyn, Mayfield, and Carbondale joined.

The municipalities surrounding the expanding city noticed that Scranton's scope was increasing rapidly. They also saw that Lackawanna County's only other city, Carbondale, was recently disestablished to make way for Scranton. This indicated that Scranton was the only city in the county. Farmers and other rural workers sold their equipment and inventory to people in neighboring counties, thus ending agricultural production in Lackawanna County. Some people were concerned now that Scranton was larger than Reading.

One month after Jermyn, Mayfield, and Carbondale were consolidated into Scranton, officials in Dalton, Glenburn, Clarks Green, Clarks Summit, and Waverly met with the city council and mayor of Scranton to consolidate those boroughs into the city. Soon, the city engulfed the boroughs. At that point, Scranton was comparable in size to Erie.

Within the third month after Scranton merged with the first boroughs, officials in smaller municipalities met to consolidate with Scranton now that farmers and other rural workers in Lackawanna County gained jobs in urban fields. The city council and mayor approved of the decision to merge the remaining municipalities of Lackawanna County into Scranton. Scranton was now coterminous with Lackawanna County.

The urban area expanded. Now Wayne, Susquehanna, and Wyoming Counties became urban counties; and urban areas that already existed in Luzerne and Monroe Counties expanded. New boroughs were established, and existing boroughs grew larger. Yaegashi, a new borough, was established in Wayne County near Waymart, and had a few thousand people. Nishizumi, another new borough, was established in Susquehanna County and neighbored Forest City. Some people who used to farm in Lackawanna County went to rural areas in other counties and did their business there. The Wyoming Valley urban area was now in six counties, transcending the combined size of Allentown and Bethlehem.

Consequently, Scranton became the third largest city in Pennsylvania. The only Pennsylvanian cities that were larger than Scranton were Pittsburgh and Philadelphia. Minor league sports teams disbanded from the major league teams they were associated with and began to compete on a major league level. For-profit businesses could make a profit more easily, non-profit organizations were able to advance their causes more easily, and people could apply for jobs more easily. Lackawanna County, together with Philadelphia County, was completely urbanized and had parts of its urban area flowing out into other counties.