Ideas for my stories
Ideas to help me with my stories, also typos. :D
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
Apiavva
Ok...I am new to fictionpress and have always wanted to be a published author.

I have been writing for years, I started with some fanfiction, although I didn't know that there was such a thing at the time, of Christopher Pike, specifically his Last Vampire series.

When I started coming up with my own stories, I was in heaven. I love to write. I love my characters. I really like to edit...yes I understand that is weird.

I have always had the hardest time coming up with titles for my stories though. At the moment, they are saved by character names in my computer.

I was just wondering how other authors create titles for their works, I really need help with them.

12/11/2006 #1
adorima
I usually like to relate the title to the subject or theme of the story or chapter. I like doing this in a subtle and (hopefully)clever way, with symbolism, analogies etc.

Also you can take a direct quote from the chapter and make it the title for that chapter. The quote would probably have to reflect pretty well on the content of the chapter.

Ya. So there.

...That's awesome that you're in heaven when you're writing. I wish I had those inclinations. I like to write but, jeez...heaven? Man...you are made for this job...

12/19/2006 #2
K.G. Coleman
When i write a story i like the title to be short and leave the reader wondering. I know that wwhen i pick up a book, if the title is intriguing i'll pick it up. I also like to base it off common sayings like i once wrote something called "When pigs Fly." My favorite title was called "Wripple" and the story was about a kid who was afraid of the water because that's how his father died. So yah... I hope that helped. If you send me some of your stories i might be able to help more
1/17/2007 #3
FollowingButterflies
I find it hard to give my stories titles.

I'm a rubbish wrtier tho and hardly publish my work on here.

2/25/2007 #4