Not So Run of the Mill Science Fiction
Have a story that stretches the boundaries of current Science Fiction? Is it unpredictable and fresh? Do you shy from the neat happy endings that are commonplace in today's fiction? C'mon in, lets share some links and compare notes!
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
Shoob

I'm new to this whole writing thing, but I find it helpful to have some inspiring music playing while I type up the thoughts that collect in my head. I'm wondering if I'm just weird (not an uncommon occurrance) or if others do something similar.

By "inspiring" I mean background music that helps me relax. Personally, I use a mix of goth metal and tracks from a certain British classical string quartet. The melodic mix puts me into something of a meditative trance, weird as it may sound. Does anybody else do something like this?

8/28/2008 #1
Monev11235

I tend to listen to a lot of Synthpop and Metal. Yeah, those don't fit too well together, but... yeah.

8/28/2008 #2
dreamshell

I used to, but only sparingly, then stopped. Recently, I've gotten interested in starting up again to see how it works for me. Most of what's been recommended to me are various metal bands, instrumental stuff, movie and game soundtracks, etc. Other than that, I try and track down songs/bands that might express the same type of ideas I'm trying to portray in a given story. My own music tastes are pretty eclectic, so there's usually a large pool to draw from.

9/4/2008 #3
AccidentalSuicideBomber