The Globe
Shakespeare and other stuff. The big kids club.
New Follow Forum Follow Topic
Page 1 2 3 4 11 .. Last Next »
xenolith

Ah, yet another glorious topic to waste time in instead of actually doing what you're supposed to...

Thought it would be cool to make a place to share ideas and get feedback and suggestions. Open to all, don't be shy. We're nice people here, aren't we folks? And because I'm procrastinating right now and I've been writing for ages and my brain wants to shut down already, I'm offering up a problem I'm facing for help.

It's late. Eyes sore. Don't judge me.

I'm up to a part of my novel where I have to branch out into a dream sequence. I've never written one before and I don't quite know how to execute it. Stylistically, I'm assuming I can be as weird as possible. But how would I start it? Write a blurb about a character going to sleep and then a separate section in italics? Or, make it continuous and gradual so the character doesn't remember if they're asleep or awake? Which would be better? I'm leaning towards the latter.

If anyone can recommend a book or passage with a great dream sequence, I'd be very grateful!

11/14/2009 . Edited 11/14/2009 #1
sophiesix

hmm, options options options. me, I took the easy way out and just started with the chapter with the dream (4. ch 2 First Drawn) (not saying its a good example, but its the first that springs to mind. then in Spirit song 47. ch 12 I led into it a bit. Narq does a fair few dream sequences in 'Cryptics Paths', usually with the italics, Faithless Juliet has some in Allegory 16. Alice, Washington, she just chucked in a section divider. I dunno, have a read and see what form fits your situation best??

My question is , what name do you prefer for a young man rom India (nice chap), Barid or Badal?

*Make up! MAKE UP! you're on in ten! break a leg*

11/14/2009 #2
lookingwest

@Xen: Dreams--dreams are always hard to articulate...